Europe visit highly successful: Prime Minister Oli

Published On: June 16, 2019 03:45 PM NPT By: RSS

KATHMANDU, June 16: Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli who returned home today after participating in the Centenary Session of International Labour Organisation (ILO) in Geneva, as part of his weeklong Europe visit, followed by his UK and France official visit said his Europe visit was highly successful.

Lawmakers give mixed views about Guthi Bill

Published On: June 16, 2019 02:50 PM NPT By: RSS

KATHMANDU, June 16: Lawmakers attending a meeting of the House of Representatives today have expressed their mixed views about the proposed Guthi Bill.

Prime Minister Oli returns home from Europe

Published On: June 16, 2019 10:38 AM NPT By: Sanskriti Acharya

KATHMANDU, June 16: Wrapping up a week-long visit to Europe, Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has returned home today morning. Prime Minister Oli visited Switzerland, United Kingdom, and France from June 9 to 15.

Govt hints at revising Guthi Bill

Published On: June 16, 2019 06:30 AM NPT By: Republica

KATHMANDU, June 16: The government has hinted at revising the Guthi Bill registered at the National Assembly due to widespread protests by the supporters of the traditional Guthi [trust] culture, demanding the withdrawal of the proposed law from the parliament.

NCP lawmaker seeks resignation of Minister Baskota

Published On: June 15, 2019 07:00 PM NPT By: Bipana Thapa

KATHMANDU, June 15: Nepal Communist Party’s lawmaker Ram Bir Manandhar has demanded the resignation of Minister for Communication and Information Technology Gokul Prasad Baskota.

Swiss envoy meets Defence Minister Pokhrel

Published On: June 15, 2019 12:15 PM NPT By: Sanskriti Acharya

KATHMANDU, June 15: Swiss Ambassador to Nepal Elisabeth von Capeller met with acting Prime Minister and Minister of Defence Ishwar Pokhrel at Ministry of Defence, Singhadurbar on Friday.

LHASA, June 15: Southwest China's Tibet Autonomous Regional government has reiterated to further deepen its ties with South Asian countries including Nepal under the framework of Belt and Road Initiative.

KATHMANDU, June 15: A sub-committee under the Development and Technology Committee of parliament submitted to the committee on Friday its report on the Information Technology Bill without making any changes to various controversial provisions in it.

Poverty rate to reduce to zero in five years: Home Minister Thapa

Published On: June 14, 2019 05:00 PM NPT By: RSS

CHITWAN, June 14: Home Minister Ram Bahadur Thapa today said the government was at work to decrease the existing poverty rate of 18 percent to zero in the next five years.

KATHMANDU, June 14: The Bibeksheel Nepali Party has urged the government to withdraw the proposed Guthi bill tabled in the Federal Parliament.