Dahal named CPN (Maoist Center)'s parliamentary party leader

Published On: March 16, 2021 04:10 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 16: The Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist Center) has picked its Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal as its parliamentary party leader.

A meeting of the CPN (MC)'s parliamentary party held in Kathmandu on Tuesday made a decision to this effect, according to Devendra Poudel, a lawmaker belonging to the party.

Leader Dev Prasad Gurung has been named the party's chief whip while Dinanath Sharma is the new leader of the party in the National Assembly, the upper house of the bicameral federal parliament. However, the party's parliamentary party has yet to designate the party's deputy parliamentary party leader and whip.

The Dahal-led CPN (MC) picked its new office-bearers in the party's parliamentary party after the Supreme Court revived the erstwhile Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist Leninist) and the CPN (Moist Center) while invalidating the Nepal Communist Party (NCP) jointly led by Dahal and KP Sharma Oli.

Oli was the parliamentary party leader while Dev Prasad Gurung was the chief whip when the NCP existed.




Leave A Comment