Lumbini Province

Nirmala Mudbhari elected as proportional provincial lawmaker of JSP

Published On: September 2, 2021 12:24 PM NPT By: Rekha Bhusal

BUTWAL, Sept 2: Nirmala Mudbhari Bhattarai of the Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) has been elected to the vacant position of provincial assembly member in Lumbini Province under the proportional representation system. Nirmala has been elected under the Proportional Madhesi Inclusive quota.

Nirmala was elected to the vacant post after the party took action against Kalpana Pandey, a former member of the provincial assembly. The Election Commission sent a letter to the Provincial Assembly Secretariat on Tuesday informing it that Nirmala had been elected to the vacant post of lawmaker. The commission decided to elect Nirmala on August 26 as per the recommendation made by JSP on August 16.

The JSP Central Committee meeting on August 16 had decided to elect Nirmala of Rupandehi to the vacant post. Nirmala was second in line in the closed list of proportional representation submitted by the party.

Earlier, Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) had suspended four of its lawmakers taking oath of office and secrecy as ministers in the Shankar Pokharel-led Cabinet in Lumbini Province. JSP lawmakers Bijaya Bahadur Yadav, Santosh pandey, Suman Sharma and Kalpana Pandey had taken oath of office and secrecy as ministers against their party's decision. 

As Nirmala's name was included in the closed list of proportional representation, JSP recommended it to the Election Commission. “As per the same recommendation, the commission issued a letter announcing Nirmala's election,” said Ashok Yadav, JSP Lumbini province committee Chairman. Nirmala is expected to take oath within a week.


Leave A Comment