5 elected unopposed to NA poll from Province 2

Published On: January 24, 2018 06:23 PM NPT By: Suresh Yadav

JANAKPUR, Jan 24: Five out of eight individuals including those from Dalit, women and marginalized community have been elected unopposed to the National Assembly polls from Province 2.

It has been learned that an election will be held to pick the remaining three candidates.

Those elected today are Ramprit Paswan (Dalit), Brishesh Chandra Lal from (marginalized), Mokta Yadav, Pramila Devi Yadav and Shashikala Dahal (women).

Paswan and Pramila had filed their candidacies from Federal Socialist Forum Nepal while while Brishesh , Mokta and Shashila were from Rastriya Janata Party Nepal, Nepali Congress and CPN (Maoist Center) respectively. 

“If one of them withdrew his/her candidacy, it would be unnecessary to hold the election. However, no one is in a mood to do so,” said chief returning officer Radha Krishna Uprety.

Nominations have been filed in all the seven provinces today for the National Assembly elections slated for February 7.

Accordign to the election programs, complaints (if any) against candidates can be filed on January 25 and 26, investigations into the complaints will be carried out on 27 and the name-list of registered candidates will be published at 1 pm on 28.

Similarly, candidates willing to withdraw their candidacies can do so by 4 pm on the same day while the final-list of the nominated candidates will be published on January 29.



Leave A Comment