NA elections: Six elected unopposed from Province No. 1

Published On: January 29, 2018 07:40 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

BIRATNAGAR, Jan 29: Six candidates have been elected unopposed members of the National Assembly from the Province No. 1. Now, elections would be held only for two seats out of total eight. 

Parshuram Meghi Gurung of Sankhuwasabha, Hari Charan Siwakoti of Jhapa from CPN (UML) and Ramesh Jung Rayamajhi of Nepali Congress from Morang were elected unopposed under the open category, the Office of the Election Officer of the Province No. 1 said. 

Likewise, Naina Kala Ojha of CPN (UML) from Morang, Beena Pokharel of CPN (Maoist Centre) from Morang and Sarita Prasain of NC from Jhapa district were also elected unopposed in the women's seat for the national assembly. 

A total of four candidates are in competition for the two seats in the elections to the national assembly from Province No. 1. 

Under Dalit quota, Khem Raj Nepali of UML and Bin Kumar Bishwakarma of NC have fielded their candidacy for the election scheduled to be held on February 7. 

Likewise, Agam Prasad Bantawa Rai of UML and Mahesh Kumar Jaju are competing for a seat under the minority and physically disabled seat. 

Leave A Comment