Acharya elected UML Palpa chair

October 22, 2016 15:32 pm

PALPA, Oct 22: The eighth district convention of the CPN (UML), Palpa has unanimously elected Narayan Prasad Acharya as the district party chair today.

Regmi elected as NWA Chairperson

September 17, 2016 09:34 am

KATHMANDU, Sept 17: The third general convention of Nepal Women's Association (NWA) has elected Uma Regmi (Adhikari) as the new Chairperson of the Association.

Dr Shrestha elected NMA Chairman

September 12, 2016 10:29 am

KATHMANDU, Sept 12: Dr Mukti Ram Shrestha of the democratic panel has been elected the new Chairman of Nepal Medical Association (NMA).

Lohani elected to lead Budokai karate

September 10, 2016 09:11 am

KATHMANDU, Sept 10: The special general assembly of Nepal Kyokushin Budokai Karate Association on Friday elected an 11 member executive committee unopposed under leadership of Kapil Prasad Lohani.

Lakai elected NSFS President

August 23, 2016 18:22 pm

KATHMANDU, Aug 23: Khem Lakai has been elected President of Nepali Swiss Friendship Society (NSFS) for the year 2016-2020. NSFS Board elected Lakai to the post on August 1.

Mahar elected NSU president

August 18, 2016 21:00 pm

KATHMANDU, Aug 18: The student panels loyal to Nepali Congress (NC) President Sher Bahadur Deuba and leader Krishna Prasad Sitaula joined hands to emerge victorious in the Nepal Student Union elections held on Wednesday.

Upadhyaya elected new CJJF chair

August 12, 2016 23:30 pm

KATHMANDU, Aug 12: General Assembly of Constitutional and Judicial Journalists Forum (CJJF) on Friday unanimously elected Leeladhar Upadhyaya as the new chairman of the forum of court reporters.

KATHMANDU, Aug 5: France on Friday congratulated CPN (Maoist Center) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal on being elected as the Prime Minister of Nepal.

KATHMANDU, Aug 5: The United Kingdom's ambassador to Nepal Richard Morris, along with Gail Marzetti, head of the Department for International Development (DFID) Nepal today called on the newly elected Prime Minister of Nepal Pushpa Kamal Dahal at the latter's private residence in Lajimpat.

KATHMANDU, JULY 23: A huge share of public spending is simply misallocated among scattered projects that have long stopped delivering results.

While his mother party UCPN (Maoist)—now Maoist Center—abandoned the agenda of directly elected executive head, the chief of Naya Shakti Nepal, Baburam Bhattarai, believes only directly elected executive can guarantee stability in the country. Subhash Ghimire and Mahabir Paudyal met with the former prime minister to get his views on recent exercise to form new government under Maoist leader Pushpa Kamal Dahal.

KATHMANDU, July 9: Shalikram Jammarkattel has been elected as the chairman of the All Nepal Trade Union Federation as the different six different workers' unions including federation's joint conference was held here today.

KATHMANDU, July 5: Krishna Prasad Acharya has been elected as the chairman of the board of directors of Nepal SBI Bank Ltd.

KATHMANDU, June23: Nepal's candidate Bandana Rana has been elected as an expert member at the United Nations Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW). With her election, she has become the first Nepali to serve at the CEDAW.

Gurung elected PHSC chair

June 23, 2016 01:34 am

KATHMANDU, June 23: Newly elected chairman of the Parliamentary Hearings Special Committee (PHSC) Kul Bahadur Gurung said that the House panel will start the pending hearings for the appointment of chief justice, chief election commissioner, Supreme Court justices and ambassadors soon.

KATHMANDU, June 22: Nepali Congress leader Kul Bahadur Gurung has been elected as chairman of the Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee (PHSC) on Wednesday.

KATHMANDU,  June 22: Nepal's candidate Bandana Rana has been elected as an expert member at United Nations Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW). With her election, she has become the first Nepali to serve in the CEDAW.

KATHMANDU, June 21: The parliamentary hearings special committee is set to elect Nepali Congress lawmaker Kul Bahadur Gurung as its chairman by Wednesday.

KATHMANDU, June 14: The United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) on Tuesday unanimously elected Nepal as one of its four vice-presidents from the Asia-Pacific Group of States for the 71st session of the General Assembly.

HETAUDA, June 9: Rastriya Prajatantra Party Nepal, Makawanpur has elected an 18-member working committee under the chairmanship of Ram Hari Neupane.  The 3rd District Convention, which concluded on Wednesday evening, elected Rajaram Aryal as the regional chairman from constituency 1, Ranjit Khadka from constituency 2, Druba Sanjyal from constituency 3 and Govinda Rijal from constituency 4.