Machhindra lifts Satakshi to win second title of the season

Published On: February 24, 2020 01:05 PM NPT By: Yubraj Bibash

DAMAK, Feb 24: A-Division League champion Machhindra Club has won its second title of the season as it defeated another top flight outfit Three Star Club 1-0 to lift the third Satakshi Gold Cup in Damak on Sunday.  In the final match, Bimal Gharti Magar scored from the penalty spot in the first 10 minutes of the match to ensure the title for Machhindra, which had won the A-Division title for the first time in its history. 

With the title win, Machhindra has been rewarded with a cash prize of Rs 600,000, while the runner-up Three Star received Rs 300,000.  Machhindra has been able to win the Satakshi title just a week after claiming the top flight league title. Three Star, however, had a chance to take revenge of its 2-0 loss against Machhindra in the league, but failed to do so. 

Machhindra scored the goal in the third minute through a spot-kick from Magar after Three Star’s Ashok Khawas fouled Adelaja Somide inside the box. Magar coolly converted the penalty to win the match. 

Machhindra had other chances to score as well, as Bishal Rai ‘B’ hit a shot from outside the box, but it was saved by Three Star keeper Purna Chemjong. 

Three Star had chances to score, but could not convert any of them. Lal Rammawai hit a shot from just outside the box in the 23rd minute, but it went over the bar.  Khawas crossed the ball to Rammawai inside the box in the 39th minute, but his header went wide. Rammawai had another chance in the 43rd minute, but his shot after beating keeper Bishal Shrestha was cleared from the goalline by center back Devendra Tamang. 

Magar hit a shot after getting a pass from Rejin Subba, but he failed to double the score as his shot went over the bar in the 46th minute. Both the teams failed to score in the second half and the Magar penalty was enough to seal the title for Machhindra. 

Center back Tamang was named the man of the match and was rewarded with Rs 10,000. Three Star captain Bikram Lama was adjudged the best player of the tournament and he got Rs 50,000. Likewise, Three Star’s Sanjog Rai finished as the highest goalscorer of the tournament and received Rs 25,000. 

Machhindra’s Bishal Shrestha, Peter Segun, Rejin Subba and Prabesh Katuwal were named the best goalkeeper, the best defender, the best forward and the best coach of the tournament. Similarly, Three Star’s Rupesh KC became the best midfielder. All of them won Rs 20,000 each. 

The host Satakshidham Sporting Club’s Sanjit Rai was rewarded with the rising talent award and was given Rs 20,000.

Leave A Comment