Jit Narayan casts his vote in Chitwan, Lamichhane and Neupane could not vote

Published On: April 23, 2023 09:37 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

CHITWAN, April 23: Voting for the by-election continues in Chitwan Constituency number 2 from 7 am. Nepali Congress candidate Jit Narayan Shrestha has voted from Chaturmukhi High School Shaktikhor.

Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP) candidate Rabi Lamichhane and CPN-UML candidate Ram Prasad Neupane will not be allowed to vote in the by-election of Chitwan Constituency No. 2. Since Lamichhane's voter’s card is in Kathmandu and UML candidate Neupane's voter’s card is in Chitwan Constituency No 3, they will not be able to vote in the by-election.

In Chitwan, voting began in all 138 polling centers of 43 polling stations at 7 am, said assistant returning officer Ishwori Acharya. There was an encouraging participation of voters as they queued to exercise their franchise braving hot temperature.

The constituency has a total of 124,695 eligible voters (63,291 women, 61,403 men and one third gender).


Leave A Comment