Govt launches telemedicine in all 7 provinces to fight coronavirus

Published On: November 10, 2020 11:18 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Nov 10: In an effort to help the people impacted by coronavirus, the government, on Monday, launched telemedicine in all seven provinces.

The Ministry of Health and Population (MoHP) unveiled the list of telemedicine focal persons and their contacts, and has urged people to seek support via phone, e-mail and SMS.

The doctors within the province can now directly consult with the Provincial Hub Hospitals, and the Provincial Hub Hospitals can consult with doctors in the Central Hub Hospitals about COVID-19 complications and treatments.

According to a press statement, Dr Sharad Chandra Baral and Dr Sailesh Gurung have been appointed as telemedicine focal persons for the Pokhara Academy of Health Sciences.

Similarly, Dr Sher Bahadur Kumar and Dr Kapil Gautam have been appointed as telemedicine focal person for Seti Provincial Hospital, Dr Pradip Adhikari and Dr Kalyan Sapkota for Bharatpur Hospital, Dr Nawaraj KC for Surkhet Hospital, Dr Bishnu Poudel and Dr Achyut Acharya for the National Academy of Health Sciences, Dr Den Parsad Acharya and Dr Parbin Kumar Jha for Koshi Hospital and Dr Sudarshan Thapa for Lumbini Provincial Hospital.

Likewise, Dr Ramdev Chaudary has been appointed telemedicine focal person for Janakpur Hospital.

The Health Ministry is also working to use the service in treating other diseases.


Leave A Comment