Gladiators to face Warriors in Qualifier 1

Published On: December 26, 2017 12:06 PM NPT

KATHMANDU, Dec 26: Bhairahawa Gladiators overcame the low-scoring humdinger against Chitwan Tigers by four wickets securing a place in the qualifier 1. Gladiators will face Biratnagar Warriors. The winner of the match will go to final of EPL 2017. The loser will get the second chance in an eliminator to earn a place in final.

Gladiators’ Indian player Puneet Mehera made a crucial contribution of 30 runs which included three runs in a pitch which looked difficult to make runs on. Mehera shared a partnership of 46 runs with Rohit Paudel who struggled his way to 20 runs facing 40 deliveries.

Tigers’ skipper Dipendra Singh Airee and left-arm spinner Shahab Alam picked up two wickets each to reduce Gladiators for 72 for 5 at one stage. Kamal Singh Airee and Praveen Gupta chipped in with a wicket each.

The Gladiators skipper Sharad Vesawkar led from the front scalping three wickets on route to restrict Chitwan Tigers to the lowest score of the tournament. Tigers could only muster 87 runs in their 20 overs for the loss of nine wickets.

It was all spin show as Hari Shankar Shah and Bhuwan Karki picked up two wickets each in the match to support Vesawkar. Punit Mehera and Krishna Karki also chipped in with a wicket each.

Chitwan kept losing wickets never recovering in the innings as Gladiators maintained their stronghold in limiting the scoring. Tigers skipper Dipendra Singh Airee top scored with 15 runs to his name which included two fours and a six. Yogendra Singh Karki also made 15 runs that had a four and a six. Lalit Singh Bhandari and Aakash Thapa were the only other batsmen who managed double-figure scores.

Match Summary
Chitwan Tigers 87/9 (20 Ov)
D Airee 15 (14) 2 fours, 1 six
Y Karki 15 (14) 1 four, 1 six
S Vesawkar 4-1-12-3
Bhuwan Karki 4-0-15-2
HS Shah 4-0-18-2

Bhairahawa Gladiators 88/6 (18.3 Ov)
Punit Mehera 30 (29) 3 fours
Shahab Alam 4-0-12-2
Dipendra Airee 4-0-18-2
Gladiators won the match by four wickets. Man of the match: Sharad Vesawkar

Leave A Comment