EC demands mayors of various metropolises pay Rs 700,000 each in fine for not submitting election expense details on time

Published On: September 17, 2022 03:00 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

Those sought fine includes KMC Mayor Shah, Dharan Mayor Sampang and Bharatpur Mayor Dahal

KATHMANDU, Sept 17: Mayors of Kathmandu, Pokhara, Biratnagar, Chitwan, Pokhara and Birgunj metropolitan cities have to submit a fine of Rs 750,000 each to the Election Commission (EC) for their failure to submit the election expenditure details on time.

Chief Commissioner of the EC Dinesh Thapalia said that the EC has fined Rs 750,000 on Kathmandu Mayor Balendra Shah, Pokhara Mayor Dhanraj Acharya, Chitwan Mayor Renu Dahal and Birganj Mayor Rajeshman Singh. According to Thapalia, Harkaraj Sampang, mayor of Dharan sub-metropolitan city, is also on the list. He will have to pay a fine of Rs 550,000.

According to the EC, out of the six metropolitan cities, only Mayor of Lalitpur metropolis Chiribabu Maharjan submitted the expenditure details on time. Lalitpur Mayor Maharjan and Deputy Mayor Anjali Shakya Bajracharya as well as Pokhara Deputy Mayor Manju Devi Gurung have submitted the expenditure details on time.

The EC's meeting on Friday imposed a fine for violating the rule that the expenditure statement must be submitted within 30 days of the announcement of the election results.

The EC has decided to take action against 123,624 candidates including the mayors, according to sub-section 1 of Section 26 of the Chief Election Commissioner Thapaliya said that the EC will take action against those failing to submit the details within that period.

According to Thapaliya, in the case of those who were defeated, they will not be able to become candidates without paying the fine in the next election, and those who were elected will lose their positions if they do not pay the fine within six months.

Leave A Comment