AFC Solidarity Cup Final

Will Nepal win its first major trophy this evening?

Published On: November 15, 2016 02:30 PM NPT By: Prabin Bikram Katwal  | @prabinLFC

KATHMANDU, Nov 15: Nepal is facing Macau in the final of the AFC Solidarity Cup in Malaysia this evening. If Nepal wins, it will be the third title in 2016 for the national team after SAG and Bangabandhu Cup.

Here we present some interesting facts about previous matches between Nepal and Macau and the ongoing tournament.

Head to Head

In the five matches between the two sides, Nepal has won thrice, lost once and the other match was drawn.


Goal scorers from Nepal in last five meetings

Nirajan Rayamajhi-5

Basanta Kumar Thapa-2

Hari Khadka-2

Jumanu Rai-2

Deepak Amatya-1

Bal Gopal Maharajan-1

Deepak Lama-1

Sandip Rai-1

Tournament facts

  • Nepal has best defensive record in the tournament conceding only two goals.
  • Macau is highest scoring team in the tournament with eight goals.
  • Macau’s striker Nicholas Mario Tarrao is the highest goal scorer in the tournament.

Players to watch

Kiran Kumar Limbu (Goalkeeper, Nepal)

Kiran has been integral part of Nepali defense which has conceded only two goals in the tournament so far. Two penalty saves from him in the semifinal was crucial to send Nepal to the final of Asian football competition for the first time in its history. Kiran is one of the most experienced members of the Nepali team, he is expected to coordinate the back four of Nepali defense that comprises young defenders.   

Nicholas Mario Tarrao (Striker, Macau)

The 28-year-old striker is the key player of Macau. He has already scored four goals in the tournament. Tarrao is physically strong and very good in air ball. His areal threat could be subject of wary considering comparatively weak physique of Nepali defenders. As Nepal conceded two header goals in the semifinal against Laos, Nepali defenders should mark this man tightly.



Leave A Comment