UML, NC and Maoists win 75, 72 and 35 provincial assembly PR seats

Published On: December 23, 2017 06:50 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATMANDU, Dec 22: CPN-UML has bagged the most seats in the provincial assemblies under the proportional representation (PR) category.

Seats of provincial assemblies were allocated to the parties based on the votes won by the respective parties. Only 13 parties of the total 53 contesting the elections under the PR category succeeded to secure the seats.

The remaining parties failed to get seats under the PR category as they failed to secure 1.5 percent votes of the total valid votes cast in the elections, as stated in the election law. The EC law has a provision not to allocate seats to those parties that fail to obtain 1.5 percent votes in provincial elections and three percent votes in parliamentary elections.
The election body, however, has not allotted the PR seats for parliament following differences among commissioners over whether or not to wait for endorsement of the National Assembly ordinance by the president. Major parties are divided over whether to adopt majority-based or single transferable voting system while electing National Assembly members. 

According to poll results announced by the Election Commission on Friday, the UML, a key ally of the left alliance, won altogether 75 seats in the provincial assembly followed by the Nepali Congress' 72 seats. The UML won 15 seats in province 1; seven in province 2; 16 in province 3; 10 in province 4; 28 in province 5; six in province 6; and eight in province 7.
Likewise, the NC obtained 13 seats in province 1; seven in province 2; 16 in province 3; nine in province 4; 12 in province 5; five in province 6; and eight in Province 7.
The Maoist Center won 35 provincial assembly seats under the PR category, whereas Federal Socialist Forum Nepal won 13, Rastriya Janata Party Nepal 12, and Rastriya Prajatantra Party and Bibeksheel Sajha party won three seats each. Rastriya Janamorcha won two seats while Naya Shakti Party Nepal, Federal Democratic National Forum, Nepal Workers and Peasants Party and Rastriya Prajatantra Party (Democratic) won one seat each. 

As per the electoral law, altogether 220 members are elected in seven provinces under the PR category. By going through poll results, the left alliance of UML and Maoist Center appears to be in a comfortable position to form provincial governments in all the provinces except for province 2. 

In province 2 NC has bagged 11 seats of the total 43 seats. RJPN bagged 10 seats and FSFN won 9 seats. The UML obtained seven seats while the Maoist Center got five seats. 


Leave A Comment