Six parliamentary committees chair elected unopposed

Published On: July 26, 2018 10:43 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

BUTWAL, July 26: Chairperson of all the six parliamentary committees in the State Assembly of State no. 5 have been elected unopposed.

The election took place unopposed as nominations of only one candidate each were received for the post of Chairs of all the committees. Accordingly, Dilli Bahadur Chaudhary of the main opposition, Nepali Congress was elected the chair of the Public Accounts Committee and Dadiram Neupane of Communist Party of Nepal (CPN) the Chair of the Finance, Industry and Tourism Committee.

CPN's Asha Swarnakar was elected the chair of the Physical Infrastructure and Development Committee, CPN's Dama Kumari Sharma the chair of State Affairs and Law Committee, Dirgha Narayan Pandey of the same party to the Social Development Committee. Likewise, Bijaya Bahadur Yadav of Federal Socialist Forum was elected the chair of the Agriculture, Forest and Environment Committee.

The number of committees to remain in the Assembly was increased to six from the existing four by amending the regulations. Accordingly, the ruling party CPN assumes the chair of four committees with one each going to NC and the FSF. The elections were held on Wednesday.  RSS

Leave A Comment