HoR By-Election

Rastriya Swatantra Party's Dr Wagle leads with a huge margin as vote counting is underway in Tanahun-1 (Update)

Published On: April 24, 2023 09:41 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, April 24: Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP)'s candidate Dr Swarnim Wagle is leading with a huge margin in the ongoing vote counting the byelection held in Tanahun-1.

While Dr Wagle has secured 9,198 votes, his nearest rival Govinda Bhattarai of Nepali Congress (NC) is trailing behind him with 3,803 votes. Similarly, CPN-UML candidate Sarbendra Khanal has secured a total of 2,430  votes as the vote is currently underway.  Dr Wagle, an eminent economist, recently quit NC and joined RSP to contest the HoR by-election.

A total of 63,757 votes were cast in 42 wards of the Tanahu constituency-1. Vote counting is being held in two places, informed chief returning officer Komal Prasad Acharya.

By-elections were held in Chitwan-2, Bara-2 and Tanahun-1 on Sunday. Although the vote counting in Tanahun-1 began at 11.45 pm last night, counting of the votes in Chitwan-2 and Bara-2 is yet to start. .

Three HoR constituencies fell vacant due to various reasons after the election held on November 20, 2022. While the HoR constituency of Chitwan-2 fell vacant due to Supreme Court (SC) verdict in relation to RSP President Rabi Lamichhane's citizenship case, the HoR constituencies in Tanahun-1 and Bara-2 fell vacant after Ram Chandra Poudel and Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav were elected as President and Vice President, respectively. 


Leave A Comment