Province 5 CM secures two-thirds majority in vote of confidence

Published On: March 12, 2018 06:30 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

BUTWAL, Mar 12: Province-5 Chief Minister (CM) Shankar Pokharel on Sunday secured a vote of confidence in the provincial assembly with a two-thirds majority.

As per the constitution, the chief minister needs to win the vote of confidence in the provincial assembly within 30 days of assuming office. Pokharel had assumed office on February 15.

A total of 41 lawmakers of CPN-UML, 19 from CPN (Maoist Center), five from Federal Socialist Forum Nepal (FSFN), and one from Rastriya Janata Party Nepal (RJPN) voted for Pokharel who garnered a total of 66 votes. 

On the other hand, 18 lawmakers from the main opposition Nepali Congress voted against him. The provincial assembly has a total of 87 lawmakers. Among them, Bina Panta of RJPN is yet to take the oath while one lawmaker from Nepali Congress was absent in the voting.

CM Pokharel has pledged to drive the province towards the path of prosperity by overcoming various obstacles in the way. His promises include developing Province 5 as a 'mini Nepal'.

Leave A Comment