PM Oli secures vote of confidence by two-third majority

Published On: March 11, 2018 06:25 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU Mar 11: Out of  268 present in the session, Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has secured 208 votes of confidence from the House of Representatives on Sunday evening.

He secured 121 from CPN-UML, 51 from CPN (Maoist Center), 16 each from Rastriya Janta Party Nepal and Federal Socialist Forum Nepal, one each from Rastriya Janamorcha, Rastriya Prajatantra Party and one independent lawmaker Chhaka Bahadur Lama. 

59 lawmakers from Nepali Congress, the main opposition party, and one lawmaker from Nepal Workers Peasants Party have voted against the confidence motion. 

Naya Shakti Nepal's leader Baburam Bhattarai and RJPN lawmaker Resham Chaudhary missed the voting. Bhattarai is out of country and Chaudhary is in charged of alleging the mastermind of Tikapur incident. 

Leave A Comment