NC finalizes names of candidates for National Assembly poll

Published On: January 3, 2022 05:50 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 3: The ruling Nepali Congress (NC) has finalized the names of candidates for the upcoming National Assembly poll scheduled to be held on January 26.

According to the party, Gopal Kumar Basnet has been picked as the candidate for Province 1, Krishna Prasad Poudel for Bagmati Province, Kamala Panta for Gandaki Province, Durga Kumari for Karnali Province, Yuvraj Sharma for Lumbini Province and Narayan Mishra for Sudurpaschim Province, according to the party. 

The decision was taken at a meeting chaired by NC President and Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba at the party's central office in Sanepa.

As per the decision reached among the coalition parties at a meeting held at the PM’s official residence earlier on Monday, the ruling parties had agreed to share 19 vacant seats of the National Assembly among them. As per the agreement reached, the NC was given six seats, while the Maoist Center and Unified Socialist were allocated five seats each. As per the agreement, two seats have been allocated to the Janata Samajbadi Party and one seat to the Rastriya Janamorcha. 


Leave A Comment