Manang, Chyasal boycott draw as A-Division League kick-off set on Dec 14

Published On: November 30, 2019 10:50 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, Nov 30: The winner of Martyr’s Memorial A-Division League 2018-19 season Manang Marsyangdi Club and Chyasal Football Club have walked out of the official tie-sheet draw program hosted by All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) in ANFA Complex on Friday.

The presidents of respective clubs Chimi Urgen Gurung and Ramesh Byanjankaar had urged ANFA representative at the program to release ‘rules and regulations’ first before the tie-sheet draw which the apex football body was unable to.

“We will sit down to discuss some points for the regulations on Sunday. We can only confirm the final rules and regulations that day. There might be some addition or elimination in the rules,” said a representative of ANFA.

Both clubs did not participated in the draw despite it went as scheduled between the 12 clubs which agreed to follow the program.

The league will return to Dasarath Stadium for the first time after the devastating earthquakes that rattled the nation in 2015. The league is set to start from December 14, four days after the conclusion of 13th South Asian Games (SAG). The mega event’s football final will be played on Dec 10.

Similarly, ANFA complex will be the second venue for the A-Division league which hosted majority of games last year. Likewise, Armed Police Force (APF)’s Halchowk Stadium is dropped as a venue for this season whereas Chyasal’s football ground is prepared as an alternative ground in case required.

ANFA brings back relegation system
ANFA has brought back the relegation system after overseeing the format last season which was played after years of hiatus.

Machhindra Football Club is scheduled to face Brigade Boys Club to kick-start the A-Division league on Dec 14. The league will be played in single round-robin format until February 15. The team finishing on the top by the end of the league will be declared winners. A total of 91 matches will be played during the event.

Despite Chyasal Youth Club and Manang’s boycott, both the teams are scheduled to play its first matches on Dec 15 and 16 against Sankata Football Club and departmental club Armed Police Force respectively. 

Similarly, departmental clubs Tribhuvan Army Club and Nepal Police Club will play its first matches against Friends Club and Himalayan Sherpa Club on Dec 15 and 17 respectively.

Likewise, Saraswati Youth Club and New Road Team will face-off on Dec 26 whereas Three Star Club and Jawalakhel Youth Club will play their respective opening match, against each other, on Dec 17.

Despite ANFA’s scheduled tie-sheet, the officials are yet to decide on the inauguration program which can be held on any day of the first week.

Leave A Comment