Province 5 Capital Row

Five NC lawmakers breach party whip to cast their votes in favor of govt proposal

Published On: October 6, 2020 06:01 PM NPT By: Rekha Bhusal

BUTWAL, Oct 6: Five Provincial Assembly members of the main opposition party, Nepali Congress (NC), in Province 5 have cast their vote in favor of the government’s decision to name the province as Lumbini and establish its permanent capital in Dang defying the whip issued by the party.

The main opposition party Nepali Congress had issued whip to its lawmakers to vote against the government proposal earlier on Tuesday.

The NC’s lawmakers from Dang, Banke and Bardiya cast their votes for Lumbini as the name of the province and Dang as its capital. Lawmakers Dilli Chaudhary, Shankar Giri and Arjun Kumar Shrestha from Dang, Bhuvaneshwar Chaudary from Bardiya and Yubak Ansari from Banke district had cast their votes in favor of the government’s proposal. “We cast our votes in favor of our people and our places,” said the lawmakers.

A total of 82 votes were cast in the voting. Of them, 69 votes were cast in favor of the government proposal, while 13 others voted against the government’s proposal.

The government’s proposal of naming Province 5 as Lumbini and making Deukhuri of Dang its capital has been formally endorsed by the provincial assembly with two-third majority votes.

Leave A Comment