EC secures commitments from govt, parties on election code of conduct

Published On: September 26, 2022 12:29 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Sept 26: The government and political parties have expressed their commitment that they would honestly abide by the election code of conduct.

The Election Commission (EC) secured the commitment from the Prime Minister, Home Minister, chairpersons of political parties and their representatives by calling them at its office on Sunday. They vowed to adhere to the code in order to hold the elections in a free, fair and peaceful atmosphere. The elections to the House of Representatives and provincial assemblies have been scheduled for November 20 this year.

The letter of commitment reads, "We are committed to honestly implementing the legal provisions mentioned in the Constitution, Election Commission Act, Act on Political Parties, Election (Crime and Punishment) Act, 2073, House of Representatives Member Election Act, Provincial Assembly Member Act and Election Code of Conduct, 2079."

The commitment paper was signed by Nepali Congress President and Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, Vice Chairperson of CPN UML, Subash Nembang, Chairperson of CPN (Unified Socialist), Madhav Kumar Nepal, leader of CPN (Maoist Center), Lilamani Pokhrel, leader of Rastriya Janamorcha, Durga Poudel, and leader of Loktantrik Samajwadi Party, Keshav Jha, among others.

EC had also summoned Janata Samajwadi Party, Bibeksheel Sajha Party, Sanghiya Loktantrik Rastriya Manch, Nepal Sanghiya Samajwadi Party, and Nepal Workers and Peasant Party. The EC is issuing the election code of conduct within a few days.

EC Spokesperson Shaligram Sharma Poudel said that the political parties vowed to implement the election code of conduct and make others follow suit.

CPN (Maoist Center) leader Pokhrel said he had visited the EC office and signed the commitment paper.

It is said the political parties demanded the EC extend the time for election publicity citing that would be insufficient. 

The elections are being held on November 20 for 275 seats in HoR and 550 seats in the seven provincial assemblies across the country.


Leave A Comment