Defending champion MMC lifts Aaha-Rara Gold Cup title

Published On: January 28, 2017 08:30 PM NPT By: Santosh Pokharel

POKHARA, Jan 28: Defending champion Laxmi Hyundai Manang Marshyangdi Club (MMC) has lifted the title of Aaha-Rara Gold Cup Football Tournament, defeating host Sahara Club.

MMC defeated Sahara Club by 1-0 at Pokhara Stadium in the final match. Kamal Shrestha’s only goal of the match in the 70th minute was enough to settle the match which saw a goal-less first half. Sahara’s goalkeeper Sujeet Gurung couldn’t utilize a shot coming from 30 yards.

MMC bagged a cash prize of Rs 501,000 including gold medals and a trophy. Sahara Club had to satisfy for a runners-up spot with a cash prize of Rs 251,000 including silver medals.

Goal scorer Kamal Shrestha was declared the man-of-the-match.

MMC has played 10 finals and won 5 times including the 15th edition of Aaha-Rara Gold Cup Football Tournament and Caravan Gold Cup. Sahara Club is the winner of 12th edition of Aaha-Rara Gold Cup.

The best players of the tournament were provided with a scooter each. Sujeet Gurung was declared the most valuable player along with the best goalkeeper of the tournament. Kamal Shrestha was declared as the best defender of the tournament while Sujal Shrestha the best midfielder.

Karna Limbu of Jhapa-11 was the highest goal scorer of the tournament with three goals.

Sahara Club’s Shiva Subedi was declared the best striker whereas, Kiran Shrestha the best manager.

Jhapa-11 won the Fair Play Team award. Highest goal scorer received a cash prize of Rs 25,000 and the ones who were declared the best under five categories received Rs 15,000 each.

Leave A Comment