Cricket squad for second phase training camp announced

Published On: November 23, 2017 09:26 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Nov 23: A 20-member cricket squad has been announced on Wednesday for the second phase of the training camp for upcoming ICC World Cricket League Championship (WCLC) matches against United Arab Emirates (UAE). 

The selection committee comprising Aminul Islam (ICC representative), Jagat Tamatta (head coach) and Paras Khadka (captain) selected the players.

Earlier, a total of 26 players were called in the first phase of camp that started from November 8. 
However, several players from that pool failed to secure their places in the second phase of the camp while there are additions from U-19 team. 

Mehboob Alam and Saurabh Khanal who were in the first phase of camp are not included for second phase as both of them withdrew their names due to injuries. 

Similarly, Sushan Bhari, Naresh Budhayer, Bikram Sob, Sunil Dhamala and Anil Mandal also couldn’t secure their places for second phase camp. 

Young batsman Anil Kumar Sah is the new face in the team while his U-19 team mates Dipendra Singh Airee and Sandeep Lamichhane have also cemented their places in the team. 

The first phase camp was conducted for two weeks where selection matches were held in order to finalize the squad for second phase camp according to the selection committee. 

The final 14-member squad will be announced shortly, informed the committee. 

The Nepali team is travelling to UAE to face home team in the final round matches of the WCLC. 
Since both Nepal and UAE are already relegated to World Cricket League (WCL) Division 2, the matches slated for December 6 and 9 at Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi will have less significance. 

Nepal was relegated to WCL Division 2 after failing to secure berths in top four of WCLC following the defeat to Hong Kong in sixth round match last month. 

Nepal collected just one point out of four due to one defeat and another match being aborted due to rain in Hong Kong and now finds itself in sixth position in the eight-team contest. 

Nepal’s final round opponent UAE is in the rock bottom of WCLC. 

Nepal will now play in WCL Division 2 in Namibia next year where it will have to finish in top two to earn a place in the World Cup Qualifiers. 

During the Division 2, Nepal will compete against Canada, Oman, Namibia and UAE along with another relegated team from the WCLC. 

Anil Kumar Sah, Basant Regmi, Binod Bhandari, Dilip Nath, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gyanendra Malla, Hasim Ansari, Jitendra Kumar Mukhiya , Karan KC, Kushal Bhurtel, Lalit Bhandari, Md Arif Sheikh, Paras Khadka (captain), Sagar Pun, Sandeep Lamichhane, Shakti Prasad Gauchan, Sharad Vesawkar, Siddhant Lohani, Sompal Kami and Sushil Kandel.

Leave A Comment