16 deceased of Chhintang incident declared as martyrs

Published On: January 12, 2018 12:26 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 12: Government has decided to declare the deceased of Chhintang incident as martyrs.

The meeting of the Prime Minister and Council of Minister held at Singha Durbar on Friday decided to declare the victim of the incident as martyrs. 16 people were killed during the cultural program organized in Dhankuta in 1979 in police firing.

The government, however, did not appoint Province chief on Friday as well. It was expected that the cabinet would finalize the name of the Province chief.

According to Minister of Information and Communication, the government did not make any decision regarding the issue. 

The mass killing of the people by the then Panchayat regime on the charge of rebelling against the State power and struggling for democracy is known as the Chhintang incident in Nepal’s history. 

Likewise, the meeting has decided to promote (Judicial Service) Mahendranath Upadhyay to the post of chief registrar. 

As per the decision of the meeting, Hemraj Panta has been appointed to the post of chair of Appellate Committee. 

More, the meeting agreed to accept loan assistance of Rs 8 billion to be received from the World Bank for the Livestock Center Innovation Project. 

Besides, the government is issuing an order for conducting the Economic Census from the first day of the Nepali year 2075 BS. 

The meeting has agreed to give permission to incumbent Nepalese Army’s major general Gaurab Tandul to compete in the UN Force Commander by promoting him to the post of Lieutenant General. Similarly, Colonel Gehendra Raj Maharjan (technical) has been promoted to the post of brigadier general. 

Though the meeting held general discussions on the issues relating to the appointment of chiefs of provinces and the province capitals, it agreed to hold further discussions with political parties to decide on them. 

Leave A Comment