Youth leaders battling for the post of chief minister in Province 7

Published On: December 14, 2017 06:45 AM NPT By: DIL BAHADUR CHHATYAL

DHANGADHI, Dec 14: In Province 7, the left alliance comprising of CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Center) is set to form its provincial government after winning majority of seats in the recent election. The only question that remains is who would be the province's chief minister. 

People of Province7 are keen to find out who would be named as their chief minister. UML's vice-chairman and province coordinator Bhim Rawal and Maoist Center's influential leader in the province Lekhraj Bhatta both said that the left alliance hasn't yet decided which of the two parties would lead the province.

Both the leaders have already been elected as member of central parliament. 
 “We have not held discussion regarding the matter. The left parties are yet to decide on who should be appointed as chief minister,” said Rawal. 

Youth leaders are hopeful of being appointed as the chief minister. In Province 7, UML politburo member Karna Thapa, who is also the party's deputy coordinator of Province 7, is the senior-most leader after Rawal. 

Thapa is one of the top contenders for the post. He is confident that he would get the post. “I do not have any doubt regarding the matter. I'm to be named as the chief minister,” he said confidently.

Another contender is Tara Lama Tamang, UML's district chairman of Kanchanpur. Likewise, alternate central committee member Prakash Shah of Bajura, former UML district chairman Arjun Thapa of Bajhang, UML's Kailali district chairman Dirgha Sodari among others are also in the fray for the post. 

Maoist Center also has several leaders eying the post. Birbhan Chaudhary, Jhapat Bohara, Hariram Chaudhary, Santosh Dhami among others are also hopeful to be elected as the chief minister.

Leave A Comment