Wins for Eastern, Western regions

Published On: March 3, 2017 10:00 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

ITAHARI, March 3: Eastern Region and Western Region have made winning starts to the Prime Minister Cup Women's National T20 Cricket Tournament defeating Central Region and Mid-Western Region respectively in the opening day of the competition on Friday. 

In the matches played at Nepal DVM Global Academy School ground Itahari, Eastern Region defeated Central region by 77 runs while Western Region overcame Mid-Western Region by four wickets. 

In the first match of the day, Eastern Region elected to bat first after winning the toss and made 124 runs in 20 overs losing three wickets. Apsari Begam contributed highest 46 runs for Eastern Region while Roma Thapa collected 42 runs. Central Region's Arati Bidari took two wickets. In reply, Central Region was bowled out for just 47 runs in 13 overs. None of the batswomen of Central Region reached double digit figure in the run chase. Eastern Region's skipper Rubina Chhetri took three wickets while Sangita Rai bowled out two batswomen of Central Region. Winning side's Roma Thapa was declared the player-of-the-match.       

Meanwhile in the second match of the day, Mid-western Region elected to bat first and made 64 runs losing all wickets in 16 overs. Radha Gyawali contributed highest 12 runs while none other batswomen reached double digit figure. Sima Thapa Magar and Sabita GC took two wickets each for Western region. In reply, Western Region met the target in 17 overs losing six wickets with player-of-the-match Nitu Bhandari contributing highest 29 runs while Barsha Rana made 14 runs. 

Leave A Comment