Wins for Bajracharya, Bastola in NSC Tennis Championship

Published On: November 21, 2017 09:07 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Nov 21: Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC)’s Samrakshyak Bhushan Bajracharya and Western Region’s Abhishek Bastola emerged victorious in the men’s singles categories of the ongoing National Sports Council Tennis Championship on Monday. 

Bajracharya and Bastola registered two wins each at Satdobato Tennis Court, Lalitpur. In the fourth round matches, Bajracharya saw off Shreeram Magar of Armed Police Force (APF) 7-6, 7-6 while Bastola recorded 6-0, 6-0 victory over Dawa S Sherpa of Nepal Police Club (NPC). 

Similarly, in the fifth round matches which also were held on the same day, Bajracharya defeated Pradip Khadka of West 6-2, 6-1 whereas Bastola beat Pranav Khanal of TAC in the straight sets of 7-5, 6-4. 

In the other fourth round matches of the same category, TAC’s Pranav Khanal overcame Pradip Khadka of West 6-4, 6-0 while Kamal Bahadur Bhandari of NPC beat Santosh Khatri of APF in the straight sets of 6-1, 6-4. 

Bhandari also produced win in the fifth round as he registered 6-0, 7-5 victory over Shreeram Magar whereas in the same round, APF’s Khatri defeated NPC’s Sherpa 6-3, 2-6, 6-3. 

In the women’s singles category, TAC’s Abhilasha Bista produced double victories as she defeated Bijisha Shrestha (APF) 7-5, 6-3 in the fourth round and Bhagwati BK (APF) 6-1, 6-1 in the fifth round. 

Mayanka Rana of NPC enjoyed bye in the fourth round and defeated her sister Mahika Rana of same team in the straight sets of 6-2, 6-1 in the fifth round encounter. 

In the same category, Anne Mathema of APF recorded 7-6, 6-4 victory over Ganga Sharma of West in the fourth round clash and she got bye in the fifth round. Despite suffering defeat in the fourth round, Sharma, however, produced win in the fifth round as she beat APF’s Bijisha Shrestha in the straight sets of 6-2, 6-1. 

Top eight players are taking part in each of the two categories in the championship that is being held in round-robin format. Earlier, 17 players in the men’s and 11 in women’s sections had participated in the competition from which top eight in the events were selected for the next round. 
The final rounds will be played on Tuesday, which will then finalize the ranking of the players. 


Leave A Comment