Voters' name list registration to begin from July 16

Published On: July 10, 2017 08:21 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 10: For the purpose of the provincial elections and federal elections, the Election Commission (EC) has decided to collect the voters' name list from July 16 to 30 in the district election offices across the country. 

A meeting of the Election Commission held Monday and chaired by Chief Election Commissioner Dr Ayodhi Prasad Yadav took a decision to this effect. 

Spokesperson of the EC Surya Prasad Sharma said that the people whose name was not included in the voters' name list published on April 16 can register their names from the districts of their permanent residence. 

The people wishing to register their name should take their citizenship certificate together. 
Likewise, the EC has asked the citizens to make correction of their details by lodging application in the district election offices during the same period if their voter namelist was erred in the last update. 

However, the people already having their namelist need not to reregister their names. 
Lately, the EC had included the names of voters who had completed 18 years of age prior to February 20 in the voters final name list. The commission held the first and second phase of local election based on that voters list.

The names of 14 million 200 thousand 548 Nepali citizens is included in the voters list at present. 

Before this, the voters' names were collected by the District Election Office, the District Administration Office and the Area Administration Office through the continuous name registration, mobile registration and special registration programmes. This task was stopped from February 20 with the announcement of the election date. RSS 

Leave A Comment