Vesawkar stars in Nepal's victory

Published On: September 24, 2017 02:30 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Sept 24: Sharad Vesawkar struck a century in Nepal's 147-run win over Tamil Nadu 'A' in its third practice match during India tour on Saturday. 

Put into bat first after winning the toss, Nepal scored a total of 311-5 in the allotted 50 overs riding on Veswakar's 119-ball century. In reply, Indian local side Tamil Nadu 'A' was restricted to 164-10 in 45.3 overs at Murugappa Cricket Ground, Tamil Nadu. 
The Nepali national cricket team, which is preparing for the upcoming ICC World Cricket League Championship match against Hong Kong, had defeated Dindigul Dragons and Mylapore Recreation Club in its earlier practice matches.   

Vesawkar also built a 147-run partnership with Sagar Pun for the second wicket. Opener Pun was one of the two Nepali batsmen to make half-centuries as he stroked 77 runs off 99 balls that included one six and five boundaries. 

Likewise, Vesawkar also shared a 56-run partnership with Dipendra Singh Airee for the third wicket. Airee, who was another batsman to hit half-century, contributed quick-fire 73 runs in 37 deliveries that included four sixes and eight boundaries. 
Earlier Vice-captain Gyanendra Malla had scored 31 runs hitting six boundaries facing 37 balls. Likewise, Binod Bhandari made seven runs while Sompal Kami contributed unbeaten 10 runs. 

Vignesh Rao claimed two wickets for the Tamil Nadu-based team while R Sathyanarayan, Japneet and Akash bagged one wicket each. 

R  Sathyanarayan was the highest scorer for the Indian team as he struck 67 runs in 85 deliveries that included two sixes and five boundaries. Likewise, D Anchit scored 19 runs while Nishanth contributed 13 runs. Barath (22) was another batsman to make a notable contribution. Remaining batsmen didn't manage to touch double-digit figure. 

To bowl out the Indian team for a low total, Sandeep Lamichhane pocketed three wickets while Sushil Kandel and Karan KC claimed two wickets each. Likewise, Lalit Bhandari, Basant Regmi and Dipendra Singh Airee bagged one wicket each.

Leave A Comment