UML candidate Joshi elected Suryabinayak Municipality-5 chair

Published On: May 19, 2017 06:53 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 19: CPN-UML has won entire seats in SuryabinayakMunicipality-5 in the Bhaktapur district.

UML candidate Raj Kumar Joshi has been elected as chairperson of Ward No. 5 of the municipality, securing 1,480 votes.  

His closest rival Bal Krishan Thapa received 797 votes.  UML has won 1, 4 and 5 wards while Nepali Congress has clinched victory in 2 and 3 wards.

Of the total 5,129 voters at the Ward No. 5, 4,116 were cast in the local level elections on May 14. According to Nirmal Bhattarai, a UML leader, around nine percent of the total votes cast were declared invalid.




Leave A Comment