Top leaders of ruling alliance discuss forming of a new government

Published On: November 28, 2022 05:01 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Nov 28: Meetings and discussions between the top leaders of the five-party ruling coalition have begun as the vote count of the House of Representatives and provincial assemblies elections held on November 20 is nearing the final stage.

Prime Minister and President of Nepali Congress Sher Bahadur Deuba, Chairman of CPN (Maoist Center) Pushpa Kamal Dahal and Chairman of CPN (Unified Socialist) Madhav Kumar Nepal held discussion regarding the formation of a new government on Monday.

Prime Minister Deuba's press advisor Govinda Pariyar said that the three leaders also discussed the need to further strengthen the five-party alliance and form the next government under the leadership of the alliance.

During the meeting held at the prime minister's official residence in Baluwatar, they discussed the formation of a new government and the need for 'power sharing' for the coveted post of president. Press advisor Pariyar said that the top brass of the three parties concluded that the alliance should move forward with unanimity.

It was the first time after the election that Prime Minister Deuba and CPN (Unified Socialist) Chairman Nepal met whereas PM Deuba and Maoist Centre Chairman Dahal had met earlier on Saturday.

According to the latest results of the election, the Nepali Congress has secured the highest number of seats in the House of Representatives. According to the Election Commission, the NC has won 53 seats in the House of Representatives under the first-past-the-post electoral system as of Monday afternoon and has maintained the lead in two constituencies.

Likewise, the CPN (UML) has won 42 seats and has maintained the lead in one constituency. CPN (Maoist Center) has won 17 seats, followed by CPN (Unified Socialist) with 10 seats, Janata Samajwadi Party Nepal, Rastriya Prajatantra Party and Rastriya Swatantra Party with seven seats each. 

Similarly, independent candidates have won five seats in parliament, the Democratic Socialist Party has won four seats and the Nagarik Unmukti Party has won three seats. The Election Commission has said that the result of vote count has been delayed in some constituencies due to some problems.



Leave A Comment