Sudurpaschim Province

Three additional Provincial Assembly members of UML authenticate signatures in favour of CPN (Unified Socialist)

Published On: September 6, 2021 09:03 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

SUDURPASCHIM, Sept 6: Three additional Province Assembly members elected on behalf of the CPN-UML in the Sudurpaschim Province on Sunday have authenticated their signatures identifying them to be a part of the CPN (Unified Socialist)-led by Madhav Kumar Nepal.

Dirgha Bahadur Sodari, who held the portfolio of Provincial Ministry of Physical Infrastructure Development from the CPN-UML, former Minister of State Prakash Rawal and former Chief Whip of the UML Parliamentary Party Taralama Tamang reached the Province Election Commission Office in Dhangadhi to authenticate their signature to declare them to be the part of the CPN (Unified Socialist). 

Leaders duo, Sodari and Tamang were the chairpersons of UML Kailali and Kanchanpur district committee, respectively. With this, the number of CPN-UML province assembly members authenticating their signature to be the part of Unified Socialist has reached 13 in Sudurpachchim Province. 

The CPN-UML is now limited to 12 province assembly members in Sudurpaschim Province. Earlier, the CPN-UML was the largest political party with 25 members including the Speaker in the Province. In the Province Assembly, the CPN-Maoist Centre has 13, Nepali Congress 12 and Janata Samajwadi Party 2 members. 

The Election Commission has given a September 7 deadline for those interested to choose a new party as per the Ordinance on Political Party Division.



Leave A Comment