Ten organizational layers for unified party proposed

Published On: March 9, 2018 04:15 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 9: A task force formed to determine organizational modality of integration of the UML and the CPN (Maoist Center) has proposed dividing party organization into ten layers. Leaders working to the determinate appropriate model to integrate the organizations of the two parties said that there would be two coordination committees and eight organization committees in the new party. 

The CPN-UML and the CPN (Maoist Center), the two left parties which have decided to become one, are working to develop a common framework on ideology, organization and leadership with a target to wrap up the merger process within April. 

Leaders said that the central committee would act as the party's powerhouse with two strong committees -- the politburo and the standing committee -- under its purview. The taskforce has proposed forming a strong CC consisting between 251 and 301 members.

A joint meeting of the two sides held at the capital on Thursday has given the taskforce another 15 days to prepare the draft. The two parties have formed two committees and various sub committees to work on the integration of their sister wings and draft statute of the unified party.

A two-member committee comprising Barshman Pun and Beduram Bhusal are working to draft the statute of the new party, while another committee consisting of Gorkarna Bista and Giriraj Mani Pokharel are working to develop an appropriate strategy to merge the sister wings. 

The taskforce formed to prepare draft proposal on the statute and organization include Ishwar Pokharel, Bishnu Paudel, Beduram Bhusal, Surendra Pandey and Gorkarna Bista from UML and Ram Bahadur Thapa, Janardan Sharma, Matrika Yadav, Girrajmani Pokhrel and Barshaman Pun from the Maoist Center. 

The drafts would be given a final shape through a joint meeting of the steering committee assigned to prepare the unity document. The task force formed to draft a proposal on unification include Madhav Nepal, Bhim Rawal, Pradeep Gyawali, Raghuji Panta and Subas Nembang from the UML and Narayankaji Shrestha, Dev Gurung, Pampha Bhusal and Devendra Paudel from the Maoist Center.

The two parties have, in principle, already agreed on the framework of the unity. The Communist Party of Nepal, announced on February 20, would constitute a mammoth organization constituting 60 and 40 percent stake of UML and Maoist Center respectively. The party is to exercise parallel leadership model with "a small and operable team" of office bearers, standing committee and central committee. 

Leave A Comment