Prime Minister Cup cricket

Sudur Paschim, Province 5 share points as rain spoils match

Published On: May 31, 2019 10:53 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 31: Sudur Paschim and Province 5 shared a point each after rain spoiled the Group-A match between the two teams at the end of 19 overs during the second innings in the ongoing Prime Minister Cup One-Day Cricket Tournament in Tribhuvan University Cricket Ground at Kirtipur on Thursday. 

A minimum of 20 overs needs to be bowled during the second innings for a result under the DLS method in case of any interruption and pre-mature endings. Province 5 was strangled on 56 runs for the loss of four wickets and staring at the defeat as rain arrived after 19 overs. The match was called off at 5 PM local time after the rain continued.  

Province 5 had lost the wicket of Shubendu Pandey for 29 runs off 56 deliveries which included four boundaries in the nineteenth over as the team tried to chase the target of 72 runs set as per DLS method at the 20-over stage which would have made them the winner of the match. 
With the wicket of Pandey, the DLS target jumped to 87 runs by the end of 20 overs making Sudur Paschim firm favorites to win the match if 20 overs’ game was completed. 

However, the rain arrived to wash out the remaining match as both provinces remained winless in the ongoing inter-provincial 50-over cricket tournament.

None of the other Province 5 batsmen were able to reach double digit scores as Sandeep Sunar, Anupam Singh, Nischal Chaudhary could muster three, two and four runs respectively. 

The most experienced Sudur Paschim bowler Binod Lama registered two wickets whereas Aakash Chand and Narendra Saud shared a wicket each. Skipper Sher Malla and opening pace bowler Bikash Aagri were wicket-less in their respective two and three overs during the innings.

Earlier, Sudur Paschim won the toss and elected to bat first. Khadak Bohora, who impressed with his 19 runs in the first match, scored his first half-century in Nepali one-day domestic cricket. 
Bohora smashed seven fours and a six during his 107-ball stay as he went on to score 62 before getting run-out. He shared a crucial partnership of 60 runs with Naresh Bohora for the sixth wicket. 

Naresh chipped with 31 runs off 54 deliveries which included a boundary. Likewise, Narendra Saud contributed crucial 21 runs off 29 deliveries which didn’t have any boundaries.

Sudur Paschim scored the second highest total, 188, of any provincial team in the tournament followed by Province 3’s 247 runs against Armed Police Force Club on the opening day. 
However, it is the highest total scored by any provincial team batting first in the match.

Skipper Krishna Karki, Siddhant Raj Shahi and Jeetendra Sahani shared two wickets each whereas Anil Kharel, Bikram Bhusal and Sandeep Sunar chipped with a wicket each.

Province 3 tops the Group A points table whereas Armed Police is firmly holding the second position. Sudur Paschim and Province 5 follow at third and fourth positions.

Karnali Province will take on Province 1 at Kirtipur on Friday whereas Armed Police is scheduled to face Gandaki Province at Mulpani on same day.

Leave A Comment