Ruling alliance discuss modalities for seat allocation in upcoming parliamentary poll

Published On: August 12, 2022 09:50 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, August 12: The Task Force formed by the ruling five-party coalition to allocate seats during the upcoming Provincial Assembly and federal poll has discussed various modalities to share seats. 

Positive discussion was held about various criteria for electoral alliance among the ruling parties in the upcoming general elections, said Secretary of the Task Force Advocate Keshav Raj Joshi after the meeting held at the Prime Minister's residence, Baluwatar.  

It was also discussed if the election of the House of Representatives and the Provincial Assembly held in 2074 and the local level election held in May earlier this year could be considered as a basis for electoral alliance. The Task Force will come up with a blueprint for the distribution of seats in the election and submit it to the top leaders of the alliance, Joshi said.

In addition, broad discussion was held on contemporary issues such as the implementation of the constitution, protection of democracy and political system, addressing issues of people's livelihood, etc.

The Task Force comprises NC General Secretary Gagan Kumar Thapa, leader Krishna Prasad Sitaula and Minister of Communications and Information Technology and the party leader Gyanendra Bahadur Karki while the CPN (Maoist Center) leaders Barshaman Pun and Dev Gurung.

Likewise, Vice President Pramesh Hamal and General Secretary Beduram Bhusal from CPN (Unified Socialist), Leaders Ramsahay Prasad Yadav and Rakam Chemjong from Janata Samajwadi Party Nepal and leaders Himlal Puri and Anand Sharma from Rashtriya Janamorcha are the task force members. 

The task force will meet again on August 15.



Leave A Comment