Resham Chaudhary, accused in Kailali violence wins HoR poll from Kailali-1

Published On: December 12, 2017 01:19 PM NPT

Dhangadhi, Dec 12 :Resham Lal Chaudhary, the Rastriya Janata Party Nepal ( RJPN) candidate for the House of Representatives election from the Kailali-1 has won the election with 34,341 votes to his favor. Chaudhary is the accused in the Kailali violence that took place two years ago. 

Chaudhary defeated his nearest competitor Ms. Madan Kumari (Garima) Saha from the leftist alliance with a huge margin of votes to win a seat in the federal parliament. Saha garnered 20,935 votes. 

The Office of the Chief District Election Officer, Kailali confirmed the victory of Chaudhary in the election held on December 7. Likewise, Nepali Congress (NC) candidate Ishwari Neuapne came out third with 11,203 votes in her name. 

Chaudhary had registered his nomination at the Election Commission through his representative. Since the notorious incident that ended in tragic deaths of a baby boy and eight police personnel including senior superintendent of police (SSP) Laxman Neupane, he has been reportedly in India. He had used the social networking sites as the means of election publicity campaign. 

According to Kailali's Chief Election Officer Bishnu Prasad Aryal, the issues regarding the handover of election victory certificate to Chaudhary and administration of oath of secrecy on him will be sorted out as per the decision of the EC. 

District Police Office, Kailali's Superintendent of Police Binod Ghimire said, "Police will arrest the accused if he is found and will be presented before the court as per the law." 

The family of Chaudhary including his spouse and kin visited the Election Office this morning citing that they were there to receive his certificate. The Office informed them about the legal provisions regarding the matter and were send back, as stated by Election Officer Khimanand Bhusal. 

The law requires that any candidate winning the election should herself/himself be physically present before the Office to receive the certificate, otherwise the certificate will be dispatched to her/his home address. Provided that there was no situation to implement the second provision, the certificate will be submitted to the EC.
Likewise, RJPN's candidate Krishna Bahadur Chaudhary has won the State Assembly election from the Kailali constituency-1 'A' with 12,184 votes while his nearest rival from the Nepali Congress, Janakraj Chaudhary obtained 9,308 votes. 

Similarly, NC candidate Dr Rana Bahadur Rawal has won the State Assembly seat from the Kailali- 1 'B' by securing 9,434 votes while his closest rival Nep Bahadur Chaudhary of CPN (Maoist Centre) garnered 8,906 votes. 

However, the vote count of the Kailali-2 has been halted since last night after the number of cast votes in the records were found to be more than the votes inside the ballot boxes, as stated by Election Officer Shibahari Poudyal said. RSS

Leave A Comment