Province 5, Province 2 register wins

Published On: May 1, 2018 08:45 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 1: Province 5 has registered an empathic nine-wicket victory over Province 4 in the ongoing first Manmohan Memorial Inter-province U-16 Cricket Tournament on Monday. 

In the match played at the TU Cricket Ground in Kirtipur, Province 5 won the toss and elected to field first and was presented a target of 77 runs from Province 4 for the loss of nine wickets in the allotted 30 overs. In reply, Province 5 chased the target making 82 runs for the loss of a wicket in 9.1 overs. 

Only two batsmen reached the double digit mark for Province 4 as Anit Baral hit 16 runs off 53 balls including a four, while Dipendra Shrestha scored 12 runs off 16 deliveries.

For Province 5, Nabin Bhattarai took three wickets giving away 18 runs in the six overs he bowled, while Aayush Pandey claimed two and Kushal Malla picked one. 

Malla was out for a duck in the chase for Province 5. Bishal Bikram KC and Sijan Makaju helped the chase as KC hit 37 runs off 30 balls with two sixes and five fours, while Majaku scored 36 runs off 25 balls including two sixes and four boundaries.

Mekh Bahadur Sen took the wicket of Malla and he gave away 23 runs in 3.1 overs.
Likewise, Province 2 defeated Province 7 by a wicket in a thrilling batting display by both the teams. 

Province 2 won the toss and opted to field first and was given a target of 197 runs by Province 7 for the loss of eight wickets in the allotted 30 overs. In reply, Province 2 chased the target making 198 runs for the loss of nine wickets in 28.4 overs. 

Rahul Bhandari scored 50 runs off 49 balls, Narayan Joshi hit 30 off 15, Suwash Ayer made 22 off 23 and the opener Rajan Singh contributed 29 off 37 for Province 7. 

Nikhil Singh claimed two wickets giving away 29 runs in the six overs he bowled, while Bibek Yadav, Byash Yadav, Bikram Khushwa, Samsad Ali Manshuri, and Trit Raj Das picked up a wicket each for the winning team. 

In the chase, Amit Yadav top scored with 61 runs off 59 balls and was supported by not out 57 off 34 from Bibek. Likewise, Sahil Patel hit 31 off 29 and Das scored 19 off 23 for Province 2. 
Joshi, Mahesh Sawad, Narendra Sawad and Rahul Bhandari picked up two wickets for the losing side. 

Leave A Comment