Province 2 fails to name itself, choose capital

Published On: March 18, 2020 08:04 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 18: Efforts to choose a name for Province 2 and a capital failed on Tuesday after the ruling coalition failed to garner the required two-thirds majority. Province 2, which covers eight districts of southern Nepal bordering India, has long been struggling to name itself and fix its capital.

Nepal Communist Party was for naming the province Janaki. the Nepali Congress has proposed that it be named Mithila Bhojpura and one dissident Congress leader had proposed the name Madhya Madhesh. Two Madhes-based parties—Rastriya Janata Party and Samajbadi Party—who currently lead the provincial government, were for naming it Madhes Province.

Of the total 107 members of the provincial assembly, 37 members voted for Janaki, 28 lawmakers stood in favor of Mithila Bhojpura, 42 voted for Madhya Madhes and 60 for Madhesh Province.

Constitutionally, a two-third majority is required to name a province and fix its capital. The ruling coalition’s proposal failed after it couldn’t garner the required 12 additional votes.

Leave A Comment