PR vote counting concluding today

Published On: December 15, 2017 06:15 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 15: The Election Commission (EC) has completed counting the proportional representation (PR) votes of 65 of the total 77 districts till Thursday evening. 

EC Spokesperson Navaraj Dhakal informed that PR vote counting will conclude Friday. "So far, we have completed the counting of 65 districts and it will conclude on Friday itself," said Spokesperson Dhakal. 

Out of the total 8.5 million votes counted till Thursday evening, CPN-UML has bagged the highest 2,885,984 votes. The Nepali Congress has secured 2,802,843 votes whereas CPN (Maoist Center) obtained 1,157,750 votes. Federal Socialist Forum Nepal with 411,371 PR votes is in the fourth position followed by the Rastriya Janata Party Nepal, which has received has got 366,140 votes.

The ongoing results suggest that only five parties--UML, NC, Maoist, FSFN and RJPN--are likely to secure parliament seats under PR category. Electoral law has a provision to allocate parliamentary seats under PR category only to those parties which garner three percent of the total votes cast in the elections. 

Bibeksheel Sajha Party has obtained 194,417 votes, Rastriya Prajatantra Party has received 186,537 whereas Naya Shakti Party Nepal has secured 74,455 votes.

EC has already completed counting the first-past-the-post votes for parliament. The UML won the highest 80 seats followed by Maoist Center's 36, NC's 23, RJPN's 11 and FSFN's 10 seats. Other fringe parties and an independent candidate were elected in the remaining five parliamentary constituencies.

Leave A Comment