No-confidence motion filed against Lumbini CM Pokharel, Maoist’s KC proposed as new CM

Published On: April 19, 2021 01:23 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

BUTWAL, April 19: A no-confidence motion has been registered against Shankar Pokharel, Chief Minister of Lumbini Province.

A total of 41 lawmakers belonging to Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Center) and Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) have signed in the motion filed against Pokhrel at the Provincial Parliament Secretariat earlier on Monday, according to Fakharudin Khan, Chief Whip of NC in the Lumbini Province.

Khan also shared that Maoist lawmaker Kul Prasad KC has been proposed as the new Chief Minister to succeed Pokharel.

In the 87-member Province Assembly, Pokharel needs at least 43 votes to survive as Chief Minister. Ruling CPN-UML has a total of 41 lawmakers while NC has 20 members in the assembly. Similarly, there are 17 lawmakers belonging to Maoist Center excluding Purna Bahadur Gharti, who is now serving as the speaker of the Provincial Assembly. Six other members belong to JSP. 

Pokharel’s government is said to be in crisis as some UML lawmakers close to senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal are likely to cross the floor  and vote against him.

Leave A Comment