No-confidence motion registered against Lumbini CM Pokharel for second time

Published On: May 9, 2021 12:39 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

40 lawmakers have signed the motion, proposing Maoist Center’s KC as new CM 

KATHMANDU, May 9: Three weeks after the first no-confidence motion was not acted upon by the province assembly, lawmakers of the opposition parties including the Nepali Congress (NC) and CPN (Maoist Center) have registered another no-confidence motion against chief minister of Lumbini Province, Shankar Pokharel on Sunday.

According to Fakharudin Khan, whip of Nepali Congress in the province, as many as 40 assembly members have signed the motion, which was registered at the province assembly secretariat earlier today. “Of the 79 existing members in the province, 40 belonging to NC, Maoist Center and other fringe parties have signed the motion,” said Khan. “We are now preparing to go to the Province Chief Dharmanath Yadav to ask him to summon a special session of the province assembly,” he said.

The alliance of the opposition parties has proposed Maoist lawmaker Kul Prasad KC as the new CM to succeed Pokharel. 

A similar motion was filed against Pokharel on April 19. Pokharel, however, resigned from his position on May 2, when the province assembly’s special session was scheduled to discuss and settle the motion. However, CPN-UML’s Pokharel, was re-appointed as the chief minister of the province as the leader of the largest party in the province assembly. The opposition parties have been objecting to his re-appointment, claiming that they hold a clear majority in the provincial assembly.

Leave A Comment