NC’s stronghold in Nuwakot crumbles with Mahat's loss

Published On: December 10, 2017 12:16 PM NPT

NUWAKOT, Dec 10: Another senior leader of Nepali Congress succumbed to a defeat in Nuwakot. Dr. Ram Sharan Mahat, former finance minister lost by more than 8000 votes against rival Hit Bahadur Tamang of CPN (Maoist Center) in Constituency-1.

Mahat received 27,920 votes while his opponent secured a win with 36,473 votes. Tamang had been competing with Mahat since the constituent assembly elections in 2064 and 2070. Tamang has secured his win in three attempts. Earlier, Tamang had lost to Mahat in the elections of 2064 and 2070. 

Earlier, Prakash Sharan Mahat was defeated by Ishwor Pokharel in Kathmandu-5; Arjun Narsing KC and Ramesh Kumar Mahat in Nuwakot.  

Leave A Comment