NC to choose PP leader on March 5

Published On: February 27, 2018 07:45 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 28: Nepali Congress has said that it will choose its parliamentary party leader on March 5. 

A Central Committee (CC) meeting of the party held on Tuesday decided to hold the election for the PP leader on coming Monday. The meeting has formed an election committee under the coordination of Chinkaji Shrestha to this effect. 

According to NC sources, President Sher Bahadur Deuba, General Secretary Shahank Koirala and former General Secretary Prakash Man Singh are seen as possible contenders for the coveted post of PP leader.  

"We will unveil an election schedule on Friday after holding talks with the top leaders of the party," said coordinator Shrestha, adding, "We will pick PP leader before the first meeting of the House of Representatives."

He further said that the party is making preparations to publish voter's list on March 4 and register nominations on the same day. 

In the 275-member House of Representatives, NC has 63 lawmakers of which Deuba panel has 36 lawmakers, Ram Chandra Paudel has 24 while Krishan Sitaula has 3 lawmakers.
Since Deuba panel has a clear majority, Koirala is not in a mood to contest the election for the PP post while former General Secretary Singh, who is backed by Paudel, is likely to contest the polls.

Leave A Comment