NC factions divvy up Tarun Dal posts

Published On: November 16, 2016 12:10 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Nov 16: Top leaders of the Nepali Congress (NC) have unanimously agreed to pick Jeet Jung Basnet, who is close to party president Sher Bahadur Deuba, as the president of the party's youth wing Tarun Dal. The agreement was reached after several days of negotiations among leaders of four rival factions within the party. 

As per the agreement, senior leader Ram Chandra Paudel faction would appoint the wing's general secretary, while Krishna Prasad Sitaula faction will pick the wing's vice-president. Likewise, the top leaders of the party have agreed to elect a candidate close to Khum Bahadur Khadka as treasurer.
Earlier, Basnet had staked claim for the president of the party's student wing Nepal Students' Union. Later he had withdrawn his claim after Deuba assured him support Tarun Dal presidency, paving the way for Nain Singh Mahar to head the student body.
Although the three rival factions have not officially named their candidates for office bearer positions, sources said Bhupendra Jung Shahi is likely to be elected general secretary from Paudel faction, Uttam Chapagain as vice-president from Sitaula faction and Min Krishna Maharjan as treasurer from Khadka faction. 

As per the understanding among top leaders, the time for filing candidacies has been extended till Wednesday. Sources said there has been an understanding to file candidacy by one person for each of the president, vice president, general secretary and treasurer postions. 

As per the statute of the Tarun Dal, the president can nominate two secretaries. Sources said there has been understanding to pick one secretary each from Deuba and Paudel factions.

The Tarun Dal has a total 61-member Central Working Committee. With the election of Basnet as Tarun Dal president on Wednesday, Deuba faction will head three sister wings including NSU, Nepal Women's Association and Nepal Tarun Dal.

Leave A Comment