It's mostly senior leaders who skip House meetings

Published On: September 28, 2018 05:25 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Sept 28: It's mostly the senior leaders of the major political parties who have been found to be absent in the parliament meetings during the second session of the House of Representatives, which prorogued Thursday.

Surya Narayan Yadav of the ruling Federal Socialist Forum Nepal (FSFN) remained absent in 39 meetings of the total 79 meetings of parliament during the session. Padma Narayan Chaudhary of Nepali Congress remained absent in 33 meetings followed by NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba in 32 meetings.

NC lawmaker Abhisekh Pratap Shah was absent in 26 meetings followed by ruling Nepal Communist Party leader Satya Pahadi (24 meetings) and Umakanta Chaudhary of NC (22 meetings).

NCP Chairperson Pushpa Kamal Dahal also skipped 15 meetings, NC Treasurer Sita Devi Yadav 18 meetings, and General Secretary Shashanka Koirala 10 meetings during the session, which continued for 135 days.

According to the parliamentary regulations, leave for more than 10 consecutive meetings of parliament should be endorsed by the House.

Leave A Comment