House forms watchdog panels to check policy corruption

Published On: April 15, 2017 12:50 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, April 15: With the view to regulate policy corruption by various government ministries and other bodies, Legislative Committee of parliament has formed seven different sub-committees on Thursday.

The sub-committees will study the regulations and directives issued by government bodies to see whether they are in accordance with the laws endorsed by the House.

The decision of the parliamentary watchdog comes at a time when various state-owned enterprises (SOEs) including Nepal Oil Corporation, Nepal Airlines Corporation among others have been accused of preparing to pay bonuses to their staffers breaching the legal system, said lawmakers. These SOEs are said to have taken the decision to distribute bonuses to their employees based on the decisions of the ministries concerned. 

“The parliamentary sub-committees will study whether any ministry has issued regulations or directives flouting the prevailing law, leading to policy corruption,” said coordinator of one of the sub-committees, Rewati Raman Bhandari.

The committees also have the right to scrap any provision in those regulations and directives if it contradicts the prevailing law, he said. As per Rules 182 and 203 of the parliamentary regulations, the committee has the authority to review and direct the ministry concerned if any correction is needed.

Seven sub-committees formed on Thursday will study the regulations and directives of five ministries each or office of the prime minister and constitutional bodies.

Radheshyam Adhikari, Rewati Raman Bhandari, Ram Narayan Bidari, Agni Prasad Kharel, Laxman Lal Karna, Ram Dulari Chaudhary and Seema Kumari BK have been appointed as coordinator of the seven sub-committees. 

The government has been found issuing several directives against the any law. The sub-committees' first task will be to ask the ministries to scrap such directives. 

Parliament hadn't formed such panels after the first Constituent Assembly (CA).

Leave A Comment