EC calls on parties to file nomination for forthcoming National Assembly elections

Published On: December 13, 2019 03:55 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 13: The Election Commission on Friday called on political parties to file registration for the election to the National Assembly within 10 days.

In a notice to the political parties, the election body urged them to file nomination in accordance with the Article 271 of the constitution and clauses 48, 49 of the Act related to Political Parties-2017 for the election purpose.

Chief Election Commissioner Dinesh Kumar Thapaliya said that those political parties who wish to file nomination in the upcoming National Assembly elections should also produce the audit report of the last fiscal year.

The government on Thursday had announced the election to elect the 18 National Assembly members for January 23, 2020.

A cabinet meeting earlier this month had fixed the election date upon the recommendation of the Election Commission. The two-year tenure of 19 lawmakers of the 59-member NA is expiring on March 3 next year. The existing laws state that the election of the upper house members must be held 35 days before the expiry of the tenure of the serving members.

Eighteen of the vacant seats would be filled through the election, while one member would be appointed by the president upon the recommendation of the cabinet.

Major political parties are also quietly holding internal negotiations to decide their candidates for the upper house. Last month, Prime Minister KP Oli had offered Nepal Communist Party senior leader Bamdev Gautam to become NA member, signaling his possible induction in the cabinet.

Prime Minister Oli is also consulting his party leaders on possible replacement of Finance Minister Yuba Raj Khatiwada, an upper house member whose term is also expiring in March. If Oli decides to retain Khatiwada as finance minister, NCP will need to re-elected him to the upper house.

Other NA lawmakers whose terms are expiring in March include Sarita Prasain, Surendra Raj Pandey, Haricharan Shiwakoti, Ramprit Paswan, Binda Devi Ale, Brishesh Chandra Lal, Badri Prasad Pandey, Balaram Baskota, Mina Budha, Mukta Kumari Yadav, Youtol Tamang, Ramesh Prasad Yadav, Durga Prasad Upadhyay, Dhan Kumari Khatiwada, Kamala Kumari Ale, Kali Bahadur Malla and Khem Raj Nepal. Their tenure was decided through lucky draw.

As per Article 86 (3) of the constitution, only one third (ie 20) of the NA members get to serve full term of six years. The remaining one third (20) NA members will be stepping down upon the completion of their four-year terms.





Leave A Comment