Bir Ganesh Man National Boxing

Dinesh Shrestha into Bir Ganeshman Boxing semis

Published On: February 7, 2019 10:36 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 7: Nepal Police Club’s Dinesh Shrestha has advanced into the semifinals of the ongoing Bir Ganeshman National Boxing Championship on Wednesday. 

In the men’s 60-kg weight category played at Basantapur Dabali in Kathmandu, departmental team’s Shrestha defeated Jinesh Gurung of Province 4 to make his place in the last four. 

In the same category, players of other departmental teams -- Tribhuvan Army’s Ek Bahadur Ghale and Armed Police Force (APF)’s Prakash Limbu -- also reached the semifinals. Ghale beat Sunil Shahi of Province 3, while Limbu saw off Bharat Chand of Province 7 to book their last four tickets. 

Ganesh Thapa Magar was the only non-departmental player to make his semifinal place as the Province 5 player defeated Province 2’s Sudeep Ghising. 

In the men’s 56-kg weight category, APF’s Puran Rai defeated Province 1’s Surendra Rai, while Province 2’s Ganesh Thapa saw off Province 5’s Nabin Gharti. Province 7’s Mahendra Chand beat Police’s Shambu Rajbanshi, while Army’s Bimal Roka defeated Province 6’s Prashant Lama. The winners have all reached the last four. 

In the men’s 52-kg weight category, Army’s Prem Chaudhary beat Province 5’s Samir Chaudhary to reach the semifinals. In the same category, Province 1’s Sulav Raj Tuladhar beat Province 6’s Jeevan Pun Magar, while Police’s Chandra Bahadur Thapa won the battle against Province 7’s Sagar Malla. APF’s Bikram Pariyar also reached the last four defeating Province 3’s Mingmar Gyaljen Sherpa. 

In the men’s 49-kg weight category, APF’s Pradip Maharjan defeated Province 2’s Pawan Shrestha, while Army’s Sushil Thapa beat Province 3’s Madan Krishna Dangol to enter the semifinals. Bhanu Bista of Province 7 saw off Suraj Oli of Province 5, while Province 6’s Mohan Gurung stunned Police’s Dipesh Rai to enter the last four. 

In women’s 46-48 kg weight category, Police’s Diwana Sharma beat her APF counterpart Nangja Budamagar to enter the last four. In the same category, Army’s Lalita Maharjan saw off Province 1’s Manjita Makhim, Sushma Tamang of Province 3 defeated Province 6’s Janaki Thapa and Province 5’s Sushila Thapa beat Province 8’s Pratibha Shahi.

In the women’s 48-51 kg weight category, Army’s Bimala Shrestha defeated Province 2’s Manisha Rai to enter the semifinals, while Province 4’s Mina Ghale defeated Province 6’s Sushma Pun Magar in the same category. Province 3’s Roshani Rai beat Province 5’s Bimala Thapa Magar, while APF’s Mala Rai overcame Province 1’s Aruna Yonjan. 

In the women’s 51-54 kg weight category, APF’s Sanju Maya Thing advanced into the last four beating Province 7’s Harina Ayer, while Province 2’s Teji Gurung and Police’s Nisha Tamang defeated Shiwani Shrestha and Chandrakala Rai respectively. 

Likewise, in the women’s 60-64 kg weight category, Army’s Punam Rawal defeated Province 1’s Krisha Jabegu to reach the semifinals. APF’s Saraswati Rana beat Province 3’s Ambika BK, while Province 6’s Ashmita Chand saw off Province 5’s Maya Chaudhary to reach the last four. 

The tournament being organized by the Bir Ganesh Man Singh Foundation will run till Saturday. The winner of each category will win Rs 25,000, while all the runner-ups will take home Rs 15,000 each. Also, all the third-placed players will get Rs 7,500 each. 

Also, the best boxers in the men’s and women’s categories will get a motorcycle and a scooter, respectively.


Leave A Comment