Deuba, Singh file candidacy for PP leader

Published On: March 4, 2018 06:51 PM NPT By: Balkrishna Adhikari

KATHMANDU, Mar 4: Former Prime Minister and party president Sher Bahadur Deuba has filed his candidacy for the election of parliamentary party leader of Nepali Congress.

Deuba filed his candidacy granting his attorney to Meen Bishwakarma and Bharat Kumar Shah for the nomination. Bijay Kumar Gachchadar proposed his candidacy and Man Bahadur Bishwakarma seconded the proposal.

Likewise, former general secretary of the party Prakash Man Singh also filed his candidacy for the post, challenging party president Deuba. Leader Sita Devi Yadav proposed his nomination and Sanjay Gautam seconded the proposal.

As per the election schedule made public by the Nepali Congress today, name list of voters would be published at 4.30 pm on March 4, the applications for candidacies will be called from 6 pm to 7.30 pm on March 4 and the final list of candidates will be published at 8.30 am on March 5. 

The voting will take place from 10 am to 1 pm on March 5 at the NC parliamentary party office in Singha Durbar. Vote counting will be started immediately after the voting is over, said Keshab Rijal, the member-secretary of the election committee. 

The Nepali Congress has 63 lawmakers in the 275-member House of Representatives. Among them, 23 are elected from the first-past-the-post election while 40 are elected from the proportional representation category.


Leave A Comment