Nepali Congress PP leader

Deuba defeats Singh, becomes NC’s PP leader

Published On: March 5, 2018 12:40 PM NPT

KATHMANDU, March 5: Sher Bahadur Deuba, chairperson of Nepali Congress was elected as the Parliamentary Party leader of Nepali Congress. Deuba defeated Prakash Man Singh, former general secretary of the party with a vote difference of 25. 

Deuba and Singh received 44 and 19 votes respectively.  

NC leaders Bal Krishna Khand and Bharat Kumar Sah had filed Deuba’s candidacy. Bijay Kumar Gachhadar proposed his candidacy while Man Bahadur Bishwakarma seconded the proposal.

Similarly, Singh had filed his candidacy for the post, challenging party president Deuba. Leader Sita Devi Yadav proposed his nomination and Sanjay Gautam seconded the proposal.

The voting for PP leader was held at Singhadurbar from 10 AM to 1 PM today.

The Nepali Congress has 63 lawmakers in 275 member House of Representatives. Of them, 23 are elected from the first-past-the-post election while 40 are elected from proportional representation.  

Leave A Comment